Dear you,

Sometimes we all feel down or alone. Sometimes we try to avoid how we feel and sometimes we find ways of expressing ourselves, though they have consequences.

I push people away, and write.

A Poem.

Hi, I’m a disappointment.
I’m the youngest of three,
Nothing new there
Hi, I’m a disappointment.
I got good grades in my GCSEs and A-Levels,
but it doesn’t really matter.
Nothing new there.
Hi, I’m a disappointment.
I’m usually on my phone,
but when I’m off – no one speaks.
Nothing new there.
Hi, I’m a disappointment.
I’m overly sensitive,
But I’m an adult – and I get told to stop crying.
Nothing new there.
Hi, I’m a disappointment.
You’re thinking I’m complaining over nothing,
Stereotypical teenage angst right?
Then why are you still reading?
Whatever right.
Nothing knew there.
Hi, I’m a disappointment.
I can’t handle my feelings,
and therefore can’t stay stable.
Nothing new there.
Hi, I’m a disappointment.
I worry about my future –
If I have one.
Nothing new there.
Hi, I’m a disappointment.
I dress how I like and get judged,
By about five different reasons.
‘Too short’
‘Too dark’
‘Too different.’
Once again, nothing new there.
Hi, I’m a disappointment.
But I’m the only disappointment I’m going to get.

 

Don’t worry about me. I’m okay. Just a little sad sometimes – but that’s okay.

I hope you’re happy and I hope you have a good morning tomorrow.

 

Sophie

Leave a Reply

